Getting sick gets our attention

If you have been following the blog, you may remember that I am a registered nurse and my intention is to help people find their well-being, hence the name “WellBeing Life Coach”.  However, since I started writing I have picked many subjects to write about but have not yet touched upon our physical health.  Well, it’s time.  And I know that it is time to talk about physical health because over the past couple of weeks I was sick myself and it gave me a lot of time to think about why I attracted being sick.

The answer is simple.  I was out of alignment.  According to Abraham-Hicks “wellness that is being allowed—or the wellness that is being denied—is all about the mindset, the mood, the attitude, the practiced thoughts.”  It is our natural state of being to be well.  I was not in my natural state of being.   Every cell of our body is pure consciousness going about its business of well-being until something causes a disturbance.  It is our resistance (negative emotion) that causes disturbances.  I say that and want to add that no one intentionally wants to attract their illnesses, but as in all unwanted things in life, if we attracted it, we did it by default, not deliberately.  We can change our default mode at any time and switch to being deliberate creators!

I woke up a couple of weeks ago with a sore throat.  Then a cough developed.  I had a headache.  A sinus infection and bronchitis was brewing.  For a couple of days I had to take to my bed. Where was the resistance?  Every year without fail I get sick around the holidays.  So, why is that?  The answer is simple.  I don’t like the holidays.  I never have.  They overwhelm me.  They are something I manage to get through each year but without fail, my lack of well-being lets me know how my emotions have been.  When we get an illness, it is a clear manifestation of how we have been feeling.

So, what can we do when we are ill?  If you are thinking negative thoughts, go general. Say things to yourself such as “This too shall pass” and “Others have come out the other side of feeling like this and it is possible for me too.”  That may be a lot easier if the illness consists of a sinus infection and bronchitis and not something more serious such as cancer or a chronic illness.  However, whatever it is you have, there are those that have better outcomes than the masses.  Why is that?  Faith makes the difference.  Hope makes the difference.  Belief in something that has not yet come into evidence makes the difference.  Recovery is possible.  All things are possible.  But belief in the possibility is essential for any recovery.  Don’t focus on where you are now.  Get into the feeling place of what it is like to be well.  Most days when we are walking through our life, it is not our dominant intention to be well.  But when we get sick, nothing else seems to matter more than being well.  We will take all the other problems life can dish out if we could just be well! Focus on wellness.  Know that every cell knows what to do to restore health and well-being.

As a nurse, I need to know about medications and their side effects.  Whenever I look a medication up, I am intrigued to see the side effects of a person on a particular drug in comparison to the side effects of a person on the placebo.  Persons on placebos usually experience both the good effects of a particular medication and the adverse effects of a particular medication which highlights what the BELIEF of a person does.  If you believe a medication will help you take it.  If you have heard that a particular medication may make you nauseous even if you take the placebo, you may get nauseous.   Belief is the propellant.

As a nurse, I am also intrigued by the human body.  The heart beats between 60-100 times a minute without you putting it on your to-do list.  The cells regenerate constantly.  All systems are working every minute of every day processing our food, getting rid of toxins in our body and keeping most of us in a beautiful state of well-being without one thought given to it happening.  Trust in that magnificent system.  If there is something awry, feel your way into balance.  Watch happy movies, listen to uplifting music, stay away from the nay-sayers, drink lots of water, deep breathe, and move your body as much as you can.  Surround yourself with beauty.  All is well.  All is well.  All is well.

Happy Holidays!

5 thoughts on “Getting sick gets our attention

  1. Belief really does play a huge part in it doesn’t it? I am a huge advocate of listening/dancing to some good music to raise your vibration, it always works for me:)
    Great post, I hope you’re feeling better now.

  2. Hi Amanda – I think you are on target with the WHY you get sick.. Emotion has a lot to do with out bodies and how they operate. Think about a person who is enraged with anger … they turn red, their blood pressure goes up, you can see the veins on their neck pop out .. definitely a physical reaction to an emotion.

    I was introduced to a self healing method called “Emotional Freedom Technique” (EFT); also commonly referred to as “Tapping”, about 8 months ago. I used to get severe migraines (stress related), cramping in my belly, my legs etc. Now when I start to feel ‘out of sorts’, or I sense a headache coming on, I simple Tap.. Check out my website for more info (all FREE) as well as a ink on how to Tap. I LOVE feeling healthy gain.. all the best, Norma

  3. You are so right…. I have been listening to “The Secret”, Reading “The Magic of Believing”, The Strangest Secret…The list goes on and on… I have been programming myself to have total prosperity in every area of my life. Whatever I want i intend it now, I have become a deliberate creator… If I don’t want a thing, I don’t give it any energy.. I have been blessed to leave my job and own my own business for 10 years, I wanted a multi-million dollar deal and God bless me to find the secret and learn how to attract it, now I am working with a group of millionaires on a huge project that will yield millions to me. I love the fact that I am helping people to live their best life and I am helping them with the power of “ganoderma” to heal themselves….remember thoughts become things and you can have, be, do, whatever you want!!

Leave a Reply

