September 11, 2012

September 11th was always a meaningful date in my life. It was the day in 1954 that my parents got married.  So, today I want to give a shout out to Mom and Dad, otherwise known as Eileen and Gene, who started out 58 years ago amidst a category 3 hurricane, Hurricane Edna. My mother’s veil was blowing in the wind in the picture in her wedding album taken outside the church.  And from that  day of Hurricane Edna til present day, one would not say the 58 years was completely smooth sailing. There were more hurricanes to be had, a couple of earthquakes and one would even venture to say at times it seemed like a tsunami hit! However, being the Deliberate Creator I am now, I spent this morning contemplating my appreciation for the union of my parents that produced my four sisters who double as my best friends in life, twelve grandchildren and three great-grandchildren. One could definitely say that amidst the storms there has been plenty of sunshine. It is up to us what to focus on. For today it is the sunshine I want to bask in.

For the last 11 years, unfortunately, my parent’s anniversary has taken a back seat to another event. Now 9/11 is significant to every American and especially significant for those that lost someone. My next shout out is to my nephew Brendan’s wife Jeanne who lost her brother Greg that very sad day. Jeanne, sending you lots of love today! I am also thinking of Debbie Doyle Palmer, a high school friend of mine today. She lost her husband Orio, a Battalion Chief in the New York City Fire Department, while rescuing people from the World Trade Center. As Americans, we have all shared in some of the sadness deeply felt by these and other family members.

Today, I chose to spend time appreciating the people who so believe that we are all ONE that they lay their lives down so that we can live. I have appreciated New York City which is the place on Earth where I feel the most alive. I have appreciated that Jenn Gorsuch, a friend of mine, walked out of the South Tower 11 years ago today with her life intact. I have appreciated America with all its diversity and absolute beauty. I have appreciated our flag that stands for the freedom we all want. I see all these things that I appreciate as being born out of other desires of people who came before us and I firmly believe that as we continue to want peace and freedom these will also manifest more widely.  The most important thing for each of us to do is to be aligned with our own Inner Being. Our power lies in our choices and for today, I choose appreciation.

I recently heard a woman speak who spoke about the power of appreciation. She has written in a gratitude journal every day for the last 18 years! I started my own practice of writing at least 5 things every day that I am grateful for.  The more I look for things to be grateful for, the more those things seem to pop up in my experience. Every day we live we are given that choice: appreciation or regret, appreciation or condemnation. Which will you choose today?

8 thoughts on “September 11, 2012

  1. All I have to say is that you are a Blessing. I’m blessed to have you as my sister and my dear friend. Thank you for your message. I love you.
    E.

  2. Amen to CHOICES!!!!!!!!!!!!! That’s my favourite, most useful and most precious power of all!!!!!

    Ellyn Tosh

    Ellyn Tosh

    Finance & Administration Junior Accountant

    BGCNW – 351 Main Street

    Mount Kisco, NY 10549

    ph: 914-666-8069 x.138

    fx: 914-666-9166

    etosh@bgcnw.com

Leave a Reply

